

KASHI ACOIN 2015

3rd National CME & Survey of ACOIN (2014-15) Jointly Organised by ACOIN and Dept. of Ophthalmology, IMS, Varanasi

lointly Organised by ACOIN and Dept. of Ophthalmology, IMS, Varanas Saturday 21st March and Sunday 22nd March 2015 **REPORT**



Congratulations to the organising secretary Dr. R. P. Mourya whose untiring effort has made KASHI ACOIN 2015 a grand success

Saturday 21st march 2015:

8.30 am to 3.30 pm:

Community eye health survey (door to door) for registering the prevalence of ocular morbidity at **Jayapur** village (adopted by Hon'ble Prime Minister) was conducted very meticulously. **Dr. Jyotsna Srivastava. MLA** of Varanasi Cantonment was personally present and provided her valuable guidance and encouragement throughout in successfully conducting the survey work. Many other prominent personalities enthused by their august presence and active participation in expediting the process of survey work by the juniors as follows:

Prof. V. P. Singh: Head of the department of ophthalmology. IMS, Varanasi

Prof. Pradyot Narayan Biswas: HOD of Retina services, RIO, Kolkata

Dr. R. P. Maurya: Asst. Ptofessor, department of ophthalmology. IMS, Varanasi

Post Graduate Trainees of Burdwan Medical College and IMS, Varanasi performed extraordinary in successfully conducting the survey.

Approximately **700 persons** were included in the data collection by reaching door to door. Whole survey programme was conducted under the leadership of Prof. Swapan Kr. Samanta of Burdwan Medical College of West Bengal.

7.00 to 10.00 pm: Cultural function with Dinner was successfully conducted at K N Udupa Auditorium, IMS BHU.

Sunday 22nd March 2015: K N Udupa Auditorium, IMS BHU

10.00 am: Inauguration was successfully completed. **Prof G. C. Tripathi, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor** and **Dr. Jyotsna Srivastava. MLA** of Varanasi Cantonment graced the occasion. Felicitation of reputed and benevolent personalities was done during the inauguration as follows:

- 1. Prof. Pemanand K. Agarwal: Varanasi
- 4. Dr. Saligram: Mughalsarai
- 2. Dr. P. N. Roy: Varanasi
- Dr. Satish Ch. Gupta: Varanasi
 Dr. Bharti Kashyap: Dir. Kashyap Memorial Eye Hospital, Ranchi
- 3. Dr. R. P. Singh Bhatia: Varanasi
- **11.00** am: Scientific Session started with the Rapid Fire Competitive Session for the Post Graduate Trainees.

There were 12 participants in this session and the detail of this competitive session follows:

Name	Title of Presentation	Marks out of 2400	Position
Dr. Purban Ganguly Burdwan Med. College, W. Bengal	A KAP study to assess the awareness about the effect of tobacco smoking amongst medical students	1903	1st
Dr. Prabhu IMS, Varanasi	Diagnosis of fungal keratitis by M. Methyltholinium Chloride stain.	1877	2nd
Dr. Tanmay Srivastav IMS, Varanasi	Profile of paediatric ocular trauma in Eastern UP.	1860	3rd
Dr. Shraddha Pandey IMS, Varanasi	Open globe injury; Clinico pathological characteristics and factors predictive of poor outcome	1792	4th
Dr. Tamali Shikdar Burdwan Med. College, W. Bengal	A case of severe blepharoptosis due to incomplete 3 rd nerve palsy in a 45 year old lady.	1775	5th

Dr. Shrinkhal IMS, Varanasi	Clinico pathological profile of eyelid malignancies in Eastern UP.	1730	6th
Dr. Ritika IMS, Varanasi	Pattern of ocular trauma in victims of assault	1720	7th
Dr. Laxmi Dorennavar IMS, Varanasi	Ocular and periocular injuries caused by insects and other animals.	1720	7th
Dr. Pankaj Barnawal IMS, Varanasi	Clinicoepidemeological study of ocular morbidity amongst the students of non paediatric age group.	1691	8 th
Dr. Narendra Regar IMS, Varanasi	Study of orbital fracture in road traffic accident cases	1654	9th
Dr. Arunanshu Dutta Burdwan Med. College, W. Bengal	Rhegmatogenous retinal detachment with vitreo retinopathy in 10 years myopic patient.	1586	10th
Dr. Priya K. Meshram IMS, Varanasi	A unilateral eccentric proptosis of left eye in a 12 year boy due to some space occupying lesion.	1497	11th

Thanks to all the judges for providing their valuable time in evaluating the presentation.

- 1. Prof. R. R. Sukul: AMU, Aligarh
- 4. Dr. Prashant Bhushan: IMS, BHU
- 2. Prof. P. N. Biswas: RIO, Kolkata
- 5. Dr. Kumudini Sharma: HOD, SGPGIMS, Lucknow
- 3. Dr. Sunil Sah: Varanasi
- 6. Dr. Kamaljeet

Winner of the prizes were announced by Dr. Bharti Kashyap, Director of Kashyap Memorial Eye Hospital of Ranchi, Jharkhand who patronised the cash award and trophies and handed over during the valedictory session at the end of the academic sessions. She also delivered lecture on the management of Diabetic Macular Oedema. ACOIN wishes to extend heartfelt thanks to Dr. Bharti Kashyap.

Presentation of video by Dr. Pradip Mohanta based on the entrepreneurship and the success story of his institution at Ranaghat, West Bengal was very much encouraging for the juniors and whole heartedly appreciated by rhe audience.

1st prize: Rs. 5,000/- and Gold trophy. Number-1

2nd Prize: Rs. 3,000/- each and Silver trophy. Number-2

3rd Prize: Rs. 2,000/- each and Bronze trophy. Number-2

Special appreciation prize: Rs. 1,000/-. Number-1

The scientific programme continued till 4.30 pm followed by valedictory session.

4.30 to 5.00 pm: Prize Distribution, Valedictory and Goodbye

Twapan & Samaute

Prof. Swapan K. Samanta Hony. Secretary

Dr. J. Bhunia Chairman, Scientific Committee

For pictures of the event and report in the website please click: http://www.acoinsite.org/#!cme--survey-varanasi/c1usc http://picasaweb.google.com/inaco.album?noredirect=1