ACOIN PURI 2015

Sunday 26th April 2015

REPORT

SUCCESS

GRAN

2.44

Local Organising Committee

Chief Patron:

Dr. Barun Pattanayek, Puri Patrons: Dr. Hruday Ranjan Mohanty Dr. Bijoy Mohanty Bhubaneswar Advisor: Dr. Sharat Ch. Das **Organisinf Chairman:** Prof. B N R Subudhi HOD, Ophthalmology, MKCG Medical College, Brahmapur, Ganjam **Organising Secretary:** Dr. Sabysachi Pattanayek Tel: 09437112550, Émai: spatnaik64@yahoo.co.in **Chief Academic Co-ordinator:** Prof. Prasanna Mohantv **Academic Co-ordinators:** Prof. P. K. Nanda HOD, Ophthalmology, SCB Medical College, Cuttack Prof. Jayashree Dora HOD, VVS Medical College, Burla, Sambalpur Dr. Ashok Nanda Bhubaneswar

Venue: Sri Gundicha Bhakta Niwas Puri, Odisha Near Gundicha Mandir

4th National CME

of ACOIN

2014-15

Congratulations Org Secretary: Dr. Sabysachi Pattanayek Cell : 09437112550 Email: spatnaik64@yahoo.co.in

Inauguration:

Dr. J. K. das, Joint Director of Health Services, Odisha inaugurated the Continuing Medical Education Programme.

Felicitation:

Following benevolent personalities important for their active contribution in community development were felicitated in the inauguration programme:

- 1. Dr. Bamdev Mohanty: Ex Chief District Medical Officer. A general surgeon with commendable work in community health development.
- 2. Dr. Rajkishore Patro: President, Lion's Club, Puri.
- 3. Dr. Subhas Ch. Patra: Renowned teacher in the post graduate course in ophthalmology retired from MKCG Medical College.

Scientific Programme:

The scientific Programme extended for 5 hours in this I day CME and the subject Glaucoma was discussed in detail including both the community approach of management and the recent developments on this subject. Distinguished research workers and authorities in this subject delivered didactic lectures in this academic meet.

More than 70 interactive audience actively participated in this educational meet.

A rapid fire session of competitive presentation for the post graduate trainees was also conducted with attractive prizes and mementos for their encouragement.

Details of the Rapid Fire Session are as follows:

- 1. Dr. Ashok Kumar Khamari (1st Prize) Title of Presentation: Cup Disk Ratio, Cupping, Glaucoma Suspect
- 2. Dr. Biswajit Baral (2nd Prize) Title of Presentation: A study on Primary open Angle Glaucoma in Systemic Hypertensive Patient attending MKCG Medical College and Hospital.
- 3. Dr. Anuradha Pradhan (3rd Prize) Title of Presentation: Visual Field Changes in POAG.

5 nos Appreciation Prizes were awarded to the followings:

- 4. Dr. Bhavna G. Title of Presentation: Carbonic Anhydrase Inhibitors: Topical Versus Systemic in Glaucoma.
- 5. Dr. Nisha Jha. Title of Presentation: Clinical Profile of Primary Glaucoma in a Tertiary Healrh Care Centre in Western Odisha.
- 6. Dr. Samabesh Swain. Title of Presentation: Steroid induced Glaucoma in Children with Severe Vernal Keratoconjunctivitis.
- 7. Dr. Niranjan Jena. Title of Presentation: Glaucoma Drainage Implants: A Critical Comparison of types.
- 8. Dr. Prafulla Kumar Behera. Title of Presentation: Medical Therapy versus Surgical Management in PAOG in lower socio-economic group in a tertiary care teaching hospital.

Cash prize, Trophy and certificate was awarded to the participants as follows:

1st Prize: Rs. 5,000/- and Gold Trophy and Certificate 2nd Prize: Rs. 3,000/- and Silver Trophy and Certificate 3rd Prize: Rs. 2,000/- and Bronze Trophy and Certificate Appreciation Prize: Rs. 1,000/- each and Certificate. 5 Nos. **Judges were:** Prof. Raghab Ram Sukul (UP), Dr. Tutul Chakraborty (WB), Dr. Surajit Chakraborty (WB) and Dr. Pratap Kumar David (Lucknow). The whole event of Rapid Fire Session including prize money was supported by Prof. Anil Kulkarni, Vice

President of ACOIN (Miraj, Maharashtra).

Sufficient amount of social interaction including cultural programme and site seeing was incorporated in this event both fo the spouse and children as well as the delegates.