

REPORT

Village Survey: Saturday 20th June 2015

The survey on ocular morbidity was held in the Village Leepuram having 1,400 residents most of whom are fishermen. The Village is situated on the sea shore of Bay of Bengal – only three km.s away from Kanyakumari. The Survey was conducted by the teachers and final year student of Bejan Singh School of Optometry along with the faculty members and residents of "Institute if Ophthalmology and Joseph Eye Hospital", Thanjavur Medical College, PMB Medical College, Coimbatore and the members of ACOIN mainly Dr. R. R. Sukul, Dr. M. A. Rajan, Dr. M. Rajamohan, Dr. Swapan Kr. Samanta and Dr. Debdas Mukherjee. 992 People were examined by door to door visit. 90 People were found who have Eye diseases and treated at the referral centre. The Referal Clinic was arranged at the church within the village.

CME and Inauguration: Sunday 21st June 2015

The CME was held at hotel Sahana Castle, Nagercoil. There were 88 Participants from different Institutions of Southern India. Mr. Sajjan Singh Rathore (IAS), District Collector of Kanyakumari inaugurated the programme. The Faculties participated were from the reputed institutes of all over India as follows:

- Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh, UP
- Arvind Eye Hospital, Thirunuvelly
- Joseph Eye Hospital, Tiruchirapally
- Thanjavur Medical College
- PMB Medical College, Coimbatore
- Burdwan Medical College, West Bengal
- BKG Eye Institute, West Bengal

Quiz competition was made attractive by Prof. A. Soleman, Prof. Ananta Kumar and Dr. J. Kaliamurthy.

Rapid Fire session for the Post Graduate Trainees was participated by many.

The Board of Judges in this session were:

- Dr. M. A. Rajan
- Prof. Debdas Mukherjee
- Dr. Pradip Mohanta.

Prizes awarded as follows:

- 1st: Dr. Subhasini from Trichy
- 2nd: Dr. Lali from Trichy
- 3rd: Dr. Maithili of Coimbatore
- 5 Appreciation Prize was awarded to 5 participants.

Dr. Pradip Mohanta, Director, Netrajyoti Eye Hospital, West Bengal donated the sum of Rupees Fifteen thousand towards these awards.

The Fellowship Dinner was organised at Hotel Sea View, Kanyakumari on 20th June. Apart from the great roll of Dr. Bejan Singh and Dr. Mrs. Rooshita Bejan Singh, the benevolent service of Dr. Sanjana, Dr. Niranjana, Mrs. Usha Robartson and above all Mr. Chand Morrisson are praiseworthy. The Captainship of Dr. M. A. Rajan (President Elect, ACOIN) and Prof. M. Rajamohan (ACOIN State Councillor from Tamil Nadu) in Crystallising this CME is Noteworthy.

Village Leepuram:

Village Name : Leepuram Taluk Name : Agastiswaram District : Kanniyakumari State : Tamil Nadu Language : Tamil And English Time zone: IST (UTC+5:30) Elevation / Altitude: 22 meters. Above Sea-level Pin Code : 629702 Post Office Name: Kanniyakumari

Leepuram is a Village in Agastiswaram Taluk in Kanniyakumari District of Tamil Nadu. It is located 17 KM towards East from District head quarters Nagercoil. 4 KM from Agastiswaram. 729 KM from State capital Chennai Leepuram Pin code is 629702 and postal head office is Kanniyakumari. Agastiswaram (5 KM), Kovalam (6 KM), North Thamaraikulam (8 KM) , Eraviputhoor (9KM), Manakudy Colony (9 KM) are the nearby Villages to Leepuram. Leepuram is surrounded by Agastiswaram Taluk towards west, Thovala Taluk towards North , Nagercoil Taluk towards west, Rajakkamangalam Taluk towards west . Nagercoil , Panagudi , Padmanabhapuram , Vadakkuvalliyur are the nearby Cities to Leepuram.

This Place is in the border of the Kanniyakumari District and Tirunelveli District. Tirunelveli. District Valliyoor is North towards this place. It is near to Bay of Bengal.

Pictures at: http://picasaweb.google.com/inaco.album?noredirect=1