top of page

A Grand Success

1st National CME of ACOIN (2014-15) at Deoghar and

Survey on the Prevalence of Ocular Morbidity in  4 Villages

Bhagabanpur, Ghoshpur, Khapchua and Saraia


Congratulations Organising Secretary Dr. Nilendu Dutta Mishra


CME on

THU 25th December 2014 at Baidyanath Shankara Netralaya, Deoghar

Oculur Morbidity Survey on

FRI 26th Dec. 2014 in 4 villages Bhagabanpur, Ghoshpur, Khapchua and Saraia

CME on THU 25th December 2014.

Venue: Baidyanath Shankara Netralaya, Deoghar, Jharkhand.

Theme: Status of Ongoing Community Eye Health Practice in India …. what more to add and alter for an effective outcome regarding Diabetic Retinopathy.


Dr. Kamath, Chief Medical Officer (Health), Jharkhand inaugurated the function by ceremonial lighting. Two eminent teachers of the locality well known for their contribution in prevention of blindness were aptly felicitated in the inauguration programme.

1. Sri Yudhisthir Prasad Roy, B. A. (Hons) Pol. Sc. M.A. LLB, Secretary, Red Rose School, Deoghar, Secretary, District sports Federation, Award winner of Gyan Bharati Puraskar.

2. Prof. (Dr.) Suresh Bharadwaj, MA, PhD, Dir. Deoghar Nagar Nigham Parshad Sangha Writer.

The Scientific Programme started after the inauguration and continued till 6.00 pm in the evening. Total duration of the scientific session was 7 hours 30 mins. Leaving aside the lunch break of 1 hour the net duration of academic programme was 6 hours 30 mins. The whole academic session was on eye affection in diabetes.

There were 5 sessions with 4 key-note addresses.

Session I  was the rapid fire session for the post graduate trainees. 9 post graduate trainees participated in this competitive session. They presented various topics on the eye affection in Diabetes.

Judges in this competition were:

Prof. Pradyot Narayan Biswas (RIO, Kolkata), Dr. B. N. Gupta (Jharkhand), Dr. Monoj Hajra (Durgapur), Dr. Somdutt Prasad (West Bengal). Detail report of Rapid Fire as follows:

Prizes of Rapid Fire Session were awarded as follows:

1st Prize: Cheque of Rs. 3,000/-, Gold Trophy, Participation Medal and Certificate was awarded to Dr. Shibani Sinha, KGMU, Lucknow for her presentation “Association of Severity of Diabetic Retinopathy with External Limiting Membrane and Ellipsoid Cell disruption in type 2 Diabetes Mellitus”.

2nd Prize: Cheque of Rs. 2,000/-, Silver Trophy, Participation Medal and Certificate was awarded to Dr. Nisha Samaddar, Burdwan medical College for her presentation “Diabetic Macular Oedema”.

3rd Prize: Cheque of Rs. 1,000/-, Bronze Trophy, Participation Medal and Certificate. Participation Acknowledgement, Participation Medal and Certificate was awarded to Dr. Purban Ganguly, Burdwan Medical College for his presentation “Cornea Grafting in Diabetes”.

Prize Money: Courtesy Ms. Mukti Hajra and Dr. Monoj Hajra of Durgapur, West Bengal.


Village Survey on FRI 26th December 2014.

Venue: Bhagabanpur, Ghoshpur, Khapchua and Saraia, 28 Kilometers from Deoghar, Jharkhand.

Association of Community Ophthalmologists of India (ACOIN) successfully completed the Eye Health Survey on the Prevalence of Ocular Morbidity in the villages at Bhagabanpur, Ghoshpur, Khapchua and Saraia. Base Station was at Bhagabanpur situated about 28 KMs away from Deoghar at Jharkhand. The peripheral units were placed within a radius of 6 Kilometers centering Bhagabanpur Sarba Siksha Avijan School. About 800 patients were examined and data collected and compiled. 200 Presbyopic Spectacles were distributed amongst the needy villagers. About 20 Volunteers from the villages and all the post graduate trainees and the children of the members of ACOIN participated in this mammoth survey work.

The survey work continued till 4.30 pm in the afternoon.

Lunch was served in the evening at 5.00 pm at the Bhagabanpur Sarba Siksha Avijan School. The community lunch was prepared by the spouses of the members and staffs of ACOIN. All the volunteers from the villages participated in the lunch

bottom of page